Christia's Language Tutoring

Christia's Language Tutoring

5.0
1 employee
3 years in business

About this tutor

ZOOM tutoring available! I have open slots Monday-Sunday and can tutor over Zoom during the Quarantine.

I am a college-level and below tutor for Spanish, Japanese, English writing. I am a Junior at UC San Diego and am minoring in Japanese Studies and Language.

I have an Internationally recognized certificate of tutoring and am currently volunteering as a Spanish tutor at the Preuss School in La Jolla.

I have experience in subject tutoring, study skills training and overall grade improvement. I love being a tutor and I love helping people learn! My goal as a tutor is to help my students get to where they want to be academically as quickly and effectively as possible and to help them learn as much as they can from every class!

I love helping people learn, especially language. I love foreign language and I think that everyone can learn another language. 

The best thing about tutoring language is helping students discover the best way to learn foreign language for them!

Read more about this pro


Credentials

La Jolla, CA 92037
Email verified
Phone verified

ReviewsWrite a review



There are no reviews yet


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

My first step after general greetings and introductions is always to find out exactly what my student needs help with. This generally entails a review of the course material and a look at the lessons from the most recent classes. If the student is unsure of what they need help with I go through example sentences or problems with them until something stands out.

If they do know what or where they are having trouble with, I work with them on the trouble area using their book (if they have one) supplemental material, and examples. My goal is to help my student 'learn how to learn' so that they will not always need a tutor, this means that the student does most of the work while I offer examples and explanations where needed. 


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I have a CRLA Level 1 tutoring certificate and I have had training at Sierra College including classes and seminars. 
At UC San Diego where I am a current student I have gained experience tutoring middle and high school students.


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

In-person tutoring is on average $30/hour.

Online tutoring is $20/hour.


How did you get started teaching?

I have always tutored and taught various subjects for both my siblings and friends of the family, however it wasn't until I started attending and tutoring at Sierra College two years ago that I realized how much I love tutoring and received training to be a tutor. 


What types of students have you worked with?

I have worked with students of all ages, male and female. I am perfectly comfortable working with any type of student, including those with special accomadations. 


What advice would you give a student looking to hire a teacher in your area of expertise?

Look for someone with experience in the subject matter. If the subject is Spanish, I would suggest someone with at least a year experience tutoring that subject. If the subject is Algebra, a good candidate would be someone who has taking algebra classes at least past the highschool level.

All of this depends on what you're looking for though, so the best course of action would be to base the tutor on the need.


What questions should students think through before talking to teachers about their needs?

What am I having trouble with? (Identify the problem)

Why am I having trouble with it? (Wrong process/approach? It wasn't taught well? Forgot the use? Gap in knowledge?)

Can I figure it out by myself using the book or supplemental material?

Is this a reoccuring issue for me?


Services offered

Japanese Tutors Spanish Tutors