Moon Reading Support

Moon Reading Support

5.0
1 employee
2 years in business

About this tutor

I assess each student and put together an individualized program tailored to each student's needs. I have over ten years of teaching experience including two years as a reading intervention teacher. I also have specific training in Fountas and PInnell's reading intervention program which I often use with students. My lessons are fun and engaging and get results. 

Spending time with children is a real pleasure for me! It is so rewarding to see them learn to love reading and to help them along their literacy journey.

Read more about this pro


Credentials

HILLTOP MALL, CA 94806
Email verified

ReviewsWrite a review



There are no reviews yet


FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

I start by getting to know the student and build a rappor. I also do an assessment to determine their reading level and find out what their strenths and weaknesses are. From there I will put together an individualized program. For example, some students can read well but struggle with comprehension so I would use appropriatley leveled books and work with them on comprehension strategies. For students who struggle with phonics, I would use decodable books and phonics lessons. 


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I have a degree in Elementary and Early Childhood Education and California Preliminary Multiple Subject Teaching Credential. I have training in education administration, working with children with special needs and reading intervention.


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

I usually charge $30 for a 45 minute lesson. For most children 45 minutes is about the right legnth. Some children may do better with a longer or shorter amount of time. In that case, it is pro-rated. So that would be $20 for a 30 minute lesson or $40 for an hour. I recommend a minimum of three times a week. 


How did you get started teaching?

I have always worked with children. I had my first teaching job in high school as an assistant teacher in an after school program. I have worked with children or in the field of education ever since. 


What types of students have you worked with?

I have worked mostly with young children preschool - third grade. I do also have experience with older elementary school children and with children with special needs and learning challenges.


Describe a recent event you are fond of.


What advice would you give a student looking to hire a teacher in your area of expertise?


What questions should students think through before talking to teachers about their needs?


Services offered