MSc Finance Nerd

MSc Finance Nerd

5.0 (2)

About this tutor

-I take the time to understand my students' mindset and skillset.  Most tutors jump into knowing kids from an academic standpoint. I begin on a personal level to know who they are, what they want to achieve, and help them grow in their studies and life goals. Tutors can be mentors too. 

-I limit my student intake to make sure I have enough time in my calender to be flexible and not be spread too thin

-I always recap weaknesses to effectively monitor improvement

-I can make studying fun (tricks, humor, rewards)

-I have studied a wide range of numerous quantitative methods through Northwestern University's economics program and ESADE Business School's MSc in Finance and the CFA program. 

Helping kids be the BEST they can be so they can reach their goals. 

Read more about this pro


Credentials

Los Angeles, CA 90014
Email verified

2 Reviews

5.0

  • Angela Collazos

    Wally was very professional and personable. He knew how to make my stubborn one learn and simultaneously have fun. I think that balance is unique.

  • Cindy Luna

    He is very patient. It took my 13 yo son a over month to grasp a concept. The entire time he kept giving my kid confidence boosters and worked with him to thoroughly understand his weakpoints and confusion barriers. I highly recommend.



FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

I take an interpersonal approach and adjust according to my kids' personality and needs.

To be an effective tutor you must know the character of your pupil first. I begin learning who my kids are as a person by asking: what dreams do you have? what motivates you every day? Knowing a kid's source of inspiration and ambition is particularly relevant as it builds trust, reliability, and understanding. We all have setbacks and challenges, and during difficult times (lack motivation, self esteem, etc.) I actively work on emotional and mental development (which I have worked on as child with Tae Kwon Do, in high school with Football and Track, and as an adult while completing my Master's and CFA at the same time). I believe your personal development is key to professional growth, so I combine mindset with skillset.

After learning your personal traits, I learn your  academic attributes. Is school is easy besides one tough class? Are all subjects are stressful besides one favorite subject? What do you like and dislike about XYZ? This is key, as there are ways to draw parallels from their viewpoints and approach from one field to another so that a topic of struggle is simpler, more enjoyable, less intimidating, more interesting, etc. 

After learning who my students are personally and academically, I move towards understanding how I can best serve them in their curriculur needs. Most tutors start here, but this is flawed. Kids are not robots. They are humans. I take all that I know about my pupil's character inside and outside the classroom and tailor who they are to what they need to learn. We map out their course's syllabus with their strengths and weaknesses and design a tailored plan to improve their weaknesses and maintain their strengths. 


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

-Masters in Finance at ESADE Business School

-Concentration in Economics and Business from Northwestern University 

-Obtained Series 7 and 66 banking licenses and completed CFA Level 1

-Top 5% in private high school graduating class 


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

Hourly rate, discounts available 


How did you get started teaching?

Tutoring has been a passion of mine since I was a child in elementary. As one of the nerdiest kids in class (straight A's, city science fair contender, math competitor), I loved helping my friends. In high school I served as an executive board member of my school's National Honors Society (NHS) and implemented a new tutoring program. At Northwestern University, I joined BRIDGE, which is a summer tutoring program for freshman economics/chemistry majors who needed to freshen up their math skills. While in college, I took my tutoring experience to an even funner level - giving homework lessons to two 5 and 9 y.o brothers, as their "Manny." I want to continue helping young ones so they can achieve their dreams! 


What types of students have you worked with?

5-9 years old, high school teens, college kids too. 


Services offered

AP Macroeconomics Tutors Negotiation Trainers Sales Trainers Finance Tutors Business Tutors Business Enterprise Training Macroeconomics Tutors Management Training Coaches Spanish Tutors Algebra Tutors Algebra 1 Help Tutors Algebra 2 Tutors Basic Math Tutors Calculus Tutors College Algebra Help Tutors Elementary Algebra Tutors Elementary Math Tutors GED Tutors Ged Test Prep Tutors Series 7 Tutors