Self Employed

Self Employed

5.0 (3)

About this tutor

I have been successful in helping students completing assignments, increasing test grades, and gain understanding in academic subjects, especially math.

I lived in Guatemala for 30 years and have an MA degree in Spanish. I am fluent in academic and conversational Spanish and am knowledgeable of the cultures of Mexico, Central and South America. 

I have always loved teaching. Working one-on-one is very satisfying  I get to know students and their learning styles. I do my best to make my teaching fun and clear. It is frustrating for a student to be confused and I try my best to clear up that confusión. Teaching not only involves being knowledgeable. A teacher needs to be able to communicate the knowledge in a way that is understandable.  I feel successful when students succeed. I have been tutoring for eight years and helped students gain understanding and improve the skills they need to be successful in school. 

Read more about this pro


Credentials

La Mesa, CA 91942
Email verified
Phone verified

3 Reviews

5.0

  • Ban Haddad

    Mrs. Maria works amazing with kids. She meets the needs of the child, and really understands each kid. My daughters grades began to rise after a few lessons with her. I highly recommend her!

  • Martha Toma

    The flexibility of the tutor is great, whenever we can’t make it to the agreed appointment she is always willing to switch our appointment. She’s patient and kind.

  • Eva Haddad

    Ms. Maria is an absolutely amazing tutor for our son. She has been tutoring him for 2 years now and she continues to challenge him and help him succeed in his studies. Our son loves to work with her and looks forward to their tutoring session. She is very kind and patient as well. She has been a true blessing in our lives and to our family.



FAQs


What is your typical process for working with a new student?

At the present time I am limiting my tutoring online lessons. Before the first tutoring session, I like to meet briefly, free of charge, over the phone with parents/students to discuss their needs and expectations. 


What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

I have a valid California Teaching Credential and a Math Specialist Certificate. I have a Masters Degree in Spanish. I lived in Guatemala for 30 years. I am fluent in English and Spanish. 


Do you have a standard pricing system for your lessons? If so, please share the details here.

I charge $40 an hour to be paid at the end of each session. For sessions the are more than one hour I charge an extra $5 for every 15 minutes.  Payment is in cash at the end of each tutoring session. 


What types of students have you worked with?

I have worked with students in grades 3-7 in Math and Language Arts. The students I tutor need practice with skills as well as understanding of what they are learning. Some of the students I work with are struggling academically and feel frustrated in school. Many want to raise their grades on homework, tests and quizzes, and report cards. 


Services offered

Arithmetic Tutors Basic Math Tutors Spanish Tutors Elementary Math Tutors Elementary Algebra Tutors Reading Tutors Writing Tutors