Test Prep, Math, Science, And Writing Private Tutoring

Test Prep, Math, Science, And Writing Private Tutoring

5.0Exceptional(14 reviews)
Offers online services
Offers online services

About

I have been tutoring since 2012. Over this time, I have tutored roughly 100 students for, on average, about two years each as a private tutor. While in college, I also worked as a TA (Environmental Chemistry, Genetics and Cellular Biology, General Chemistry, and Organic Chemistry) and as a Quantitative Skills Fellow, holding each position for two years. In these positions, I provided academic support to over 200 students.

I look for ways to best cater to the students' learning styles and academic needs, while also developing and reinforcing habits and skills that will facilitate long-term academic success. My approach has proven to be successful at improving academic outcomes while prioritizing flexibility and giving students of all ages ownership over their work.

I have completed my Master's degree, for which I combined many disciplines and received the award for the best thesis project, allowing me to help students with applied research in the natural, physical, and social sciences.

I enjoy working with students and learning better ways to learn together. Whether it is a challenging course or a course that requires a lot of busywork, we always find ways to succeed academically and get ready for future coursework. I work hard to make sure that my students understand the material in-depth and can comfortably excel in tests without worry or anxiety. I have experience working with children as young as 8 and adults as old as 28. Every student brings a unique perspective to my work, which I really appreciate. I also have worked with students with learning disabilities, which has allowed me to get experience working with students who learn differently.


Highlights

Hired 22 times
3 employees
12 years in business
Serves Piedmont , CA
Offers online services

Payment methods

Cash, Check, Venmo, Paypal, Apple Pay, Zelle

Reviews

0.0
0 reviews
5
0%
4
0%
3
0%
2
0%
1
0%

AF

Azadeh F.

Carlos has been just fantastic! We originally hired him to help my daughter (9th grader) with the SSAT so that she could transfer to a private school. My daughters improvement was unbelievable, from a fairly low score to an almost perfect score in two sections. I truly do not know how, but Carlos had this impact in just over a month. We then hired Carlos on an as-needed basis for my daughter and son (5th grader). They both considered him a friendly and supportive tutor. He was crucial when school went remote for my son and helped him not fall behind through almost daily tutoring. He also helps my daughter apply for internships every summer, which she appreciates now that college applications are right around the corner. I honestly just want to say that after almost 4 years of his help, I recommend Carlos to everyone I can without hesitation.
... Show more
April 25, 2022

BB

Bonnie B.

Carlos is a really smart and intuitive tutor
... Show more
September 12, 2021
Hired on Tutors

ER

Edna R.

great
... Show more
September 11, 2021
Hired on Tutors

RL

Rex L.

My daughter truly appreciated Carlos knowledge and ability to help her learn the material. She called him, a professional tutor.
... Show more
August 20, 2021
Hired on Tutors

DM

Debbie M.

Excellent tutor! Carlos helped my twins with SAT prep and AP Chemistry over their last two years of college. They both scored well-above our initial target of 1300 (they both scored in the 1400s) and are on their way to college in the coming weeks. Thank you so much, Carlos!
... Show more
August 12, 2021

LZ

Li Z.

Carlos is knowledgeable, responsible, and professional. My daughter enjoyed working with him very much! She got an A in a very difficult Organic Chemistry class.
... Show more
August 10, 2021
Hired on Tutors

Frequently asked questions

When I start working with a new student, I will sit with them (and often their parents or caregivers) to determine what it is they are looking for. Sometimes students need help catching up and benefit from more academic support as we cover and review topics they may not have expertise in. Other students may need to develop better ways to study or devise better ways to approach a topic. Yet other students want to practice to prevent test anxiety or to prepare for challenging tests such as the ACT, SAT, or GRE. I will talk about our end goal, share my assessment of what I think is the best path forward, and discuss milestones in the short- and long-term. Then we get to work with a steady routine and revise our plan as needed.

Education:

Bachelor's degree from Pomona College in Chemistry. Extensive coursework in biology, physics, mathematics, and psychology. 

I hold a Master of Science degree from UC San Francisco and received the 2022 John L. Ziegler Outstanding Capstone Award.

Experience:

I have 10 years of experience tutoring and have been recruited by several companies over the years.

I have worked in clinical research for over three years, devising early diagnostic tools for diabetes and certain types of cancer. This experience has allowed me to gain expertise in higher-level life science and physical science concepts. I have published review articles and a book chapter on this work.

I am also a great writer and have enjoyed English/Humanities courses. I scored a perfect score on the GRE Analytical Writing Section and have received scores in the 98th percentile or above for the MCAT, SAT, ACT, and the remaining two sections of the GRE.

As a college alumni interviewer, I also have experience in college application prep, college application essays, and interview prep.

All high-school and introductory college courses: $55/hour for 1.75 hours or less per week and $50/hour for 2+ hours per week. 

Advanced college coursework (i.e. organic chemistry, linear algebra, differential equations, multivariable calculus, advanced molecular/cellular biology, upper-level psychology courses, etc.): $65/hour for 1.75 hours or less per week and $60/hour for 2+ hours per week. 

Test-prep:

SSAT/ISEE/PSAT: $75/hr

SAT/ACT: $85/hr

GRE: $95/hr

MCAT: $95/hr

College prep (i.e. help on college essays, preparation for interviews, general guidance): $75/hr

Group tutoring sessions are discounted based on the number of students working together.

A sliding scale is available on a case-by-case basis.

This pricing covers all face-to-face time. I do not charge for quick questions outside of our scheduled lessons as long as they take less than a cumulative 20 minutes each week and can be answered over text or email. I also do not charge for preparing or grading material outside our lessons.

Prices may be negotiated on a case-by-case basis.

When I was a sophomore in high school, an advanced placement opportunity allowed me to take coursework at a local college. I took several math courses during my first semester and, upon seeing my performance, my professor advised me to seek work at the college's tutoring center. Most of my students never knew I was actually in high school, but those who did were always supportive and would recommend me to their friends and acquaintances. Eventually, I started private tutoring on my own, keeping a handful of students at any given time for the past ten years.

I have tutored students aged 8 to 28. I have worked with students who need a lot of extra support and others who simply want someone to help them review for tests. Over the years, I have tutored many students who had straight As but were struggling in one class, as well as students with ~2.0 GPAs. I have also worked with students who really don't like a subject and others who want to delve into it much more than their classes allow them. Each student is unique, so it suffices to say that I feel comfortable approaching every type of student and finding ways to accomplish what they have in mind.

I have been working with one student for over 6 years. When I met them, their GPA was a 2.0 and they were ready to give up on college. I helped them through most of their coursework over 4 years in college. Their major GPA was an almost perfect 3.92 and their overall GPA a 3.6 by the time they graduated college. By then, they were a McNair Scholar and a very prolific researcher. Recently, they just finished their Master's degree and are ready to go onto their Ph.D. at a top university. Seeing them get this far has been an incredible feeling and honor.

Having time to learn without many other obligations is such a privilege; I personally miss high school (at least the learning part) and college dearly. Find someone who makes the learning enjoyable instead of burdensome and who you feel is approachable so that you can ask all the questions you may have!

Every case is very different, but generally, I think students should be honest about their goals. If all you want is to pass that test, we can study and get you an A. If you want to review the material to make sure you truly understand it, then I am all in for that too. If you want a challenge and feel ready for it but want someone on your corner for when you're stuck, I am also happy to help. Just think about what you want and we can find a way to get there! 


Services offered

Math
Basketball
Spanish
Speech
Esl
College Admissions
Psychology
Science
Social Sciences
Reading And Writing Tutoring